Wife learning to shoot. Issues with Eye Dominance vs Handedness

DumpsterDog

Established Member
Aug 2, 2022
Birmingham, AL
I've finally gotten my wife wanting to carry her own gun and start learning how to shoot. (Big Win!)

Unfortunately she is left eye dominate and right handed. She physically struggles to open her right eye by itself, so I can't just force her to use right eye, trust me I tried. She has done ok thus far with iron sighted and optic handguns, but she gets so frustrated with any long gun. She asked me if she could try to learn everything left handed and as a complete novice I don't think that's the worst option since she's been learning fundamentals fresh anyway.

Anybody out there righthanded but shoot lefty due to left eye dominance? Any suggestions from the crowd?

DoyleAlley

Established Member
Sep 15, 2022
Rainbow City, Al
I'm cross-eye dominant too. With a pistol, it is no problem. Just have her use her dominant eye. With long guns, yes - I have issues too. I have to squint my left eye and force my right eye to take over. Until the last few years, I was pretty accurate even with iron sights. Recently though, old age is taking its toll and I can't focus on the irons well enough so it looks like my days of popping chipmunks in the back yard with just an iron sighted .22 are about over.

DumpsterDog

Established Member
Aug 2, 2022
Birmingham, AL
I'm cross-eye dominant too. With a pistol, it is no problem. Just have her use her dominant eye. With long guns, yes - I have issues too. I have to squint my left eye and force my right eye to take over. Until the last few years, I was pretty accurate even with iron sights. Recently though, old age is taking its toll and I can't focus on the irons well enough so it looks like my days of popping chipmunks in the back yard with just an iron sighted .22 are about over.
Thanks for the input!

Hpgc

Established Member
May 27, 2019
NE Alabama