Is the AR/M4 the best option for Prepping?

GoneToAle

Established Member
May 12, 2023
PikeCounty
Is the AR/M4 the best platform for the average prepper to deal with a Shtf scenario? I say it's not.
All opinions are welcome.

texkev

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Feb 3, 2022
Texas
Well I am no expert that's for sure, I say NOT for most prepping needs. In hostile situations though seems handy on that end though over other options. I actually sold mine and now am considering other options for this reason. Finding a better prep option was the main reason I sold.

texkev

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Feb 3, 2022
Texas
It is funny, most of the prepping blogs and such online, always choose this as option 1.

GoneToAle

Established Member
May 12, 2023
PikeCounty
A Lever action is light to carry. And think about it, carrying stuff is a likely a limiting factor. It is for me anyway. I see that I might be carrying more than just weapons.
Even if you have 34 guns, a decision may be needed. Unless you have provisions and security to remain stationary.

Oz82

Established Member
Dec 26, 2021
Blount County
In my opinion it's depending on what you're prepping for.

I'm optimistic that unless there's a nuclear Armageddon, almost every other scenario will resolve in some sort of spontaneous order in fewer than a couple of months, especially in any significant collapse of the FedGov. In the interim security is essential, so a good rifle and shotgun is invaluable as well as a reliable sidearm.

Also, we're living where everyone else is going to be trying to bug out to, so that settles some issues like portability also.

Duke

Established Member
Jul 18, 2022
Ardmore, Alabama